Giving

Why do I give? I was not born a giver, but have become one over time. Now giving is a priority in my life. God has graciously provided me with the income to give generously. I also give of my time. We are called in scripture to give of our time, talents, and treasure.

Dave Ramsey explains why Christians give, better than any one else I’ve read. He points out that we don’t give because God needs it. God owns it all anyway. He owns the sheep on a thousand hills and he owns the hills. He doesn’t need me to give to him. I don’t give because the church needs it. Granted they need to pay bills and pay the staff, but to think that my tithe is going to keep the church going is foolish. God will provide for his ministry. No, the reason we are to be givers is because God asks us to. We are called to gradually grow and become more like Christ. God is the ultimate giver. We’ve all heard John 3:16 many times, but have you looked at the phrase, “God gave his only son.” Can you imagine a more sacrificial gift! As a parent, I can’t even fathom giving up my child, let alone letting him be killed. I’m not sure there is a greater pain. It makes 10% of your income pale in comparison.

Leave a Reply

