A very difficult year

This year has been very difficult.  It has been a very expensive year, both financially and personally.  My father, grandfather, and grandmother all died earlier this year.  I had to replace our furnace (only 6 years old).  My dog, Hope, developed seizures, hypothyroidism, and pancreatitis (all this year).  She spent 3 days in the ICU ($2000).  On December 1st I totaled my car.  With all this happening in one year I could wonder why I’m getting beat up.  What have I done wrong?  Well, because of my Christian belief, I look at this differently.  I’m wondering what I’m doing right.  I belief that the Evil One is the one who brings nastiness into this world and that God can make good out of it all.  I don’t know what I or my family have done to deserve this attention, but I’m honored.  I have learned much.   Many of these things I’ve learned before, but I don’t think I understood them until now.  I now have been praying for the the wisdom to apply this understanding.

I have learned to be less angry and more patient.  Don’t get me wrong here, I’m no saint.  I still get angry and at stupid little things.

I better understand my role as a steward of some of God’s resources.  Dad and my grandparents took nothing with them, but left behind a legacy and dizzying number of friendships.  Those friendships are invaluable to us now without him, but even more important I believe that Dad had stored up treasures in heaven through these relationships.  Again, don’t get me wrong here either, I still like stuff and God knows I have plenty.  However I don’t value it the same as I used to.  I hope to value my friends and others more.

I am more thankful for the things and relationships I have.  I can remember a time when I didn’t need anyone, certainly not a God I couldn’t touch, hear, or see.  Now I can’t imagine life without seeing his influence on a daily basis.  He has allowed me to be a part of some cool things.  I can’t thank Him enough.

Leave a Reply

